Slavery and the Underground Railroad in Union County
Aug 17, 2015 09:52AM
● Published by Kevin
The c. 1793 Dale/Engle/Walker House
at 1471 Strawbridge Road, Lewisburg, owned and maintained by the Union County Historical Society, is open for tours on Sundays from 2 to 4 PM. Visitors can learn about a part of the area’s history that is not so well known – slavery in central Pennsylvania. The Dale/Engle/Walker house was home to the Ulster-Scot Dale family and at least one African-American slave from 1793 through 1840. An audio station in the house relates the story of Dinah, the slave of Mrs. Anne Futhey Dale. The house tour includes the original hearth, furnished with period cooking implements, where Dinah would have prepared family meals. The Dales were one of a few local families, others being the Simontons and McClures, who retained slaves almost until the time of total abolition in 1847. The Dale/Engle/Walker House was not a stop on the route to freedom called the Underground Railroad, however other sites in central Pennsylvania are documented stops. Historical Society publications on these subjects, "Samuel Dale, 1741-1804: A Life and Estate," and "African Americans in Union County: Slave and Free," are available for purchase at the house.
Directions to the house: from Route 15 in Lewisburg, take Route 192 set for 1.5 miles, then turn north on Strawbridge Road and continue 1.5 miles to the site.
Information and photo provided by Union County Historical Society