Skip to main content

Susquehanna Life

Area Logging and Rafting Explored in Exhibit

Jun 10, 2015 08:46PM ● By Kevin
The Dale/Engle/Walker House, 1471 Strawbridge Road, Lewisburg,  is open for tours on Sundays from 2 to 4 in the afternoon.  The guided house tour focuses on the story of immigrant Samuel Dale, local history, and the architecture of the house – the original structure dating from 1793 with mid- to late-1800's additions.  Visitors can also see the wagon shed filled with vintage horse-drawn vehicles and farming tools, and a dairy display in the milk house.

There is an exhibit on  "Logging in Union County" that describes area logging and rafting, and the relation to railroading and mining.  Related artifacts are on display.

Directions to the Dale/Engle/Walker House: From Route 15 in Lewisburg, take Rte 192 west for 1.5 miles to Strawbridge Rd, turn north and go 1.5 miles to the house.  Rural Heritage Day will be celebrated at the site on Saturday, July 11, 10 AM to 5 PM.  For further information contact the Society office at 570 524-8666 (M-F) or and visit the website

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to Susquehanna Life's free newsletter to stay informed